Fossil carbon side effects

Fossil fuels have powered the Industrial Revolution and Green Revolution of the last 200 years, making our lives relatively more pleasant for the time being.

However, the extraction and burning of fossil carbons releases historically unprecedented quantities of steadily accumulating heavy metals, sulfur, nitrogen oxides, particulates, and processing synthetic organic chemicals, along with methane and CO2.

 

The latter in particular has a dramatic effect on the atmosphere and the oceans.

climate disruption

The pleasantly stable weather pattern of the last ten thousand years of the Holocene – a period which fostered the development of agriculture and subsequent civilizations – are changing rapidly as the burning continues. The changes are serious and irreversible on a relevant human time scale.

 

On land, it will impair food production, despite the optimistic calls for the imperative to increase it, even for the current 7 billion.

For example, for each degree Celsius rise in temperature above the norm during the growing season, nations should expect as much as 6% to 10% decline in wheat, rice, and corn yields.

Soil conditions, their microbial activity, and thus soil fertility may be under stress as severe droughts and floods become more pervasive. Other ecosystem services will also be hurt. Most crucially, further biodiversity loss is expected as the climate change rate surpasses the capacity of many species to adapt.

Sea level rise along with more violent rainfall and flooding also means that tides and storms will devour prime land property in coastal areas. As those floods push inland, they will threaten freshwater supplies, as saltwater invades the rivers, prompting salinization of coastal groundwater.

Ultimately those changes will force massive human migrations away from the coasts.

Climate refugees will not only come form low-lying island nations.

Bangladesh, situated to a large extent on the Ganges-Brahmaputra delta, is about to lose 11% of its territory (home to over 15 million people and one of the most fertile plains in the world) when the sea level rises by only 1 meter.

The world’s other 32 major low-lying deltas are home to many urban centers. About half the world’s population and much of its wealth is in the proximity of water. For example, the Nile Delta accounts for more than half of Egypt’s economy.

The melting of glaciers and reduced snowpack will ultimately question the viability of many dams in their hydropower generation capacity.

A 1% reduction in river flow can reduce electricity output by roughly 3%. Just the Hindu Kush–Karakoram–Himalayan glaciers – the eastern and central parts of which are melting an accelerated rate – are a steady water flow for energy generation, besides being an important water source for agriculture and urban as well as industrial consumption for a quarter of the world’s population.

The rivers draining from that area include Ganges, Indus, Mekong, Yangtze, Yellow, Brahmaputra, Irrawaddy and Salween.

Of course, the glaciers and snow pack have less impact on areas downstream, which rely on the annual monsoon precipitation. But monsoons are seasonal and from time to time they don’t come. It is then that the glaciers are the key provider of continuous river flow.

For example just Pakistan, a country, which grew from 52 million to 188 million people in 50 years, depends precariously on the Indus River, which in turn depends on glacial waters for up to half of its flow.

ocean acidification

Over one third of the CO2 emissions are absorbed by seawater.
This has led to an increase in the oceans’ acidity of about 30% since the beginning of the Industrial Revolution, and the process continues.

The increased acidity decreases the concentration of a key chemical, carbonate ion, in ocean water. These are the building blocks for the skeletons and shells of many organisms – including calcareous plankton, krill, corals.

The acidification has a multitude of other effects that only now are being discovered. These include undermined immune system and orientation abilities of marine animals. Thus the resultant acidification threatens the entire marine food web possibly turning huge swaths of the oceans into dead zones.

These changes will unquestionably impact the human enterprise. More than a billion people worldwide rely on food from the ocean as their primary source of protein, and many economies thrive on fisheries and related industries.

ARCADE OF DISCOVERY
EXTERNAL LINKS

A quick summary of the latest status and science from Truthout

Global warming could deplete the oceans’ oxygen – with severe consequences

Climate change: Melting glaciers bring energy uncertainty article in Nature.

Impact de la consommation de viande sur l'environnement

Nature Conservancy video 1:40 video - Julia Roberts is Nature

Europe with sea level rise

PDF. Los Angeles Times article: One in six species could be wiped out by climate change. A meta-analysis of 131 previous studies about how multiple species would fare in a warmer world. The hotter the Earth gets, the more that risk rises. Rodale Institute

Regenerative organic agriculture and climate change

Video 7:30 min. explains weather change. Climate, Jetstream and Polar Vortex. Yale Climate Forum

Film, 1:06:00 about climate change in our times (the Anthropocene)

Climate change explained by David Suzuki Foundation website

Climate change explained by UNEP website

Video 15:00 IPCC synthesis report

Prof Rattan Lal: putting carbon back into the soil can help with climate change mitigation and improved soil health.

Effets secondaires des énergies fossiles

Les combustibles fossiles ont alimenté la révolution industrielle et la Révolution Verte au cours des 200 dernières années, rendant nos vies momentanément commodes.

Toutefois, l’extraction et la combustion des énergies fossiles libèrent une quantité sans précédent de métaux lourds, de soufre, d’oxyde d’azote, de particules du traitement de produits chimiques de synthèse, ainsi que du méthane et du CO2 qui s’accumulent progressivement.

 

Ce dernier en particulier a un effet dramatique sur l’atmosphère et les océans.

changement climatique

Les conditions météorologiques relativement stables des dix mille dernières années de l’Holocène – une période qui a favorisé le développement de l’agriculture et des civilisations – sont en train de changer beaucoup plus rapidement qu’on ne l’avait initialement supposé, alors que la combustion se poursuit. Les changements sont graves et irréversibles à une échelle temporelle humaine.

 

Sur terre, ce changement aura pour conséquence de perturber la production alimentaire, malgré la nécessité de l’accroitre pour satisfaire 7 milliards de personnes.

Par exemple, pour chaque degré Celsius d’augmentation de la température au-dessus de la norme saisonnière, les nations doivent s’attendre à un déclin de six à dix pourcent des rendements du blé, du riz et du maïs.

Les conditions du sol, leur activité microbienne et donc leur fertilité peuvent être en situation de stress, alors que les sécheresses et les inondations se multiplient. D’autres aspects de ces écosystèmes se voient altérés. Mais par dessus tout, une perte de la biodiversité est prévue car le changement climatique dépasse la capacité d’adaptation de nombreuses espèces.

L’élévation du niveau de la mer mêlé à des précipitations de plus en plus violentes et des inondations signifie également que les marées dévorent les cotes et saccagent les littoraux. Des inondations fluviales menacent l’approvisionnement en eau douce, l’eau salée envahit les rivières, ayant pour conséquence la salinisation des réserves souterraines.

En fin de compte ces changements imposeront des migrations intérieures massives.

Les réfugiés climatiques ne se trouveront plus uniquement dans les nations insulaires de basse altitude.

Le Bangladesh, situé dans une large mesure sur le delta du Gange-Brahmapoutre, est sur le point de perdre 11% de son territoire (domicile de plus de 15 millions de personnes et l’une des plaines les plus fertiles du monde) en prévision d’une montée des eaux d’un mètre.

Trente-deux autres grands deltas de faible altitude abritent des centres urbains. Environ la moitié de la population mondiale et une grande partie de sa richesse se trouvent à proximité de l’eau. Pour l’illustrer, le delta du Nil représente près de la moitié de l’économie égyptienne.

La fonte des glaciers et du manteau neigeux réduit la viabilité de nombreux barrages dans leur capacité de production d’énergie hydroélectrique.

Une réduction d’un pourcent du débit d’un fleuve peut réduire sa production électrique de trois pourcents. Les glaciers Kush-Karakoram-Himalaya-Hindus – alors que leurs parties orientales et centrales fondent à un rythme accéléré – déversent un flux constant d’eau pour la production d’énergie, en plus d’être une importante ressource pour l’agriculture et les régions urbaines ainsi que la consommation industrielle d’un quart de la population mondiale.

Les rivières qui coulent dans cette région comprennent le Gange, l’Indus, le Mékong, le Yangzi, le Brahmapoutre, de l’Irrawaddy et le Salween.

Bien sûr, les glaciers et les accumulations de neige ont moins d’impact sur les zones en aval, qui dépendent plus des précipitations saisonnières de la mousson. Mais les moussons ont leur rythme, et parfois ne surviennent pas. Alors les glaciers deviennent les principaux fournisseurs de flux continu des rivières.

Par exemple le Pakistan, qui est passé de 52 à 188 millions d’habitants en cinquante ans, dépend entièrement du fleuve Indus, qui lui dépend à son tour des eaux glaciaires pour la moitié de son débit.

l’acidification des oceans

Plus d’un tiers des émissions de CO2 sont absorbées par l’eau de mer.
Par conséquent, l’acidité des océans a augmenté d’environ 30% depuis le début de la révolution industrielle, et le processus ne fait que croitre.

Les niveaux biologiquement nécessaires de carbonate de calcium ont diminués en conséquence et comme ce sont les blocs de construction pour les squelettes et coquilles de nombreux organismes – y compris le plancton calcaire, le krill, les coraux – l’ensemble de la chaîne alimentaire marine court un risque de détérioration accélérée.

L’acidification des océans a une multitude d’autre effets qui commencent tout juste à être découverts et compris. Entre autres, des systèmes immunitaires diminués des habitants marins ainsi qu’une perte de leur capacité d’orientation. Les conséquences de cette acidification concernent tout l’écosystème marin et elles donnent lieu à d’importantes zones mortes dans les océans.

Ces changements ont un impact inexorable sur les activités humaines. Plus d’un milliard de personnes dans le monde s’appuient sur ce que leur offre l’océan pour satisfaire leurs besoins en protéines, et de nombreuses économies se sont développées autour de la pêche et les industries connexes.

Arcade des découvertes
LIENS EXTERNES

A quick summary of the latest status and science from Truthout

Global warming could deplete the oceans’ oxygen – with severe consequences

Climate change: Melting glaciers bring energy uncertainty article in Nature.

Impact de la consommation de viande sur l'environnement

Nature Conservancy video 1:40 video - Julia Roberts is Nature

Europe with sea level rise

PDF. Los Angeles Times article: One in six species could be wiped out by climate change. A meta-analysis of 131 previous studies about how multiple species would fare in a warmer world. The hotter the Earth gets, the more that risk rises. Rodale Institute

Regenerative organic agriculture and climate change

Video 7:30 min. explains weather change. Climate, Jetstream and Polar Vortex. Yale Climate Forum

Film, 1:06:00 about climate change in our times (the Anthropocene)

Climate change explained by David Suzuki Foundation website

Climate change explained by UNEP website

Video 15:00 IPCC synthesis report

Prof Rattan Lal: putting carbon back into the soil can help with climate change mitigation and improved soil health.