Help make wise plans

unstoppable

Governance systems appear to be incapable of solving or even seriously addressing looming financial, resource or environmental issues. There is probably nothing that can be done to avert the course of events. The availability of fossil carbon energy is inevitably leading to mounting complexity, debt expansion, population increase and the environmental depletion – along with their inevitable interactions.

disclaimer

Our assessment does not indicate that collapse of the world economy, environment and population is a certainty. There are events that could dramatically affect the current trajectory. Major wars or pandemics could break out. Conversely, a new source of dense, transportable, abundant and cheap energy could be soon found; or genuine global leadership could arise – albeit the probability of both is rather low. Pondering on scenarios is not the equivalent of making fatalistic predictions. It just provides for planning tools.

focused and steady

A clear understanding of the factors driving the current situation and their inevitable interactions allows for more rational response. It makes it possible to stay steady and mitigate unnecessary anger and blame, and avoid squandering time and energy on token initiatives. It allows planning how to most humanely go though the impending bottleneck.

easy

A thoughtful due diligence is not an insurmountable task. Neither would be the subsequent development of appropriate plans, norms and local systems for the identified threats.

straightforward

No one institution in any country can provide all the answers, of course. But more than most countries, Switzerland has the ability to initiate a consensual, collaborative effort that brings together the available expertise and wisdom needed to gradually fill gaps within a coherent matrix. Genuine leadership can emerge.

collaborative

Crucially, this project needs to navigate around the usual traps of tunnel vision, layers of bureaucratic language, hubris and denial.

THE LIST

agriculture

The implementation of some measures may require lead-time. For example, to ensure a secure low-input food and fiber supply from local sources it may be necessary to rebuild the depleted soils, which takes multiple years of active effort and significant funding. Robust research and practical implementation of new, highly advanced, intelligent agricultural practices will be necessary within a realistically short time scale.

other areas

The intellectual and psychological preparation of young adults for possibly dramatically altered future, may be another identified necessity requiring lead-time. There may be fewer jobs available when they enter the workforce, and the professional achievements attained by their parents may not be repeatable. The value systems may have to be adapted and new skills taught in advance.

In another realm, the political mechanisms to mitigate the social polarization, anger, apathy or extremism and the raise of radical political forces may need to be identified and set in place.

The social security systems may need revision to buffer for economic disruptions to protect those most vulnerable.

Information and transportation systems may need to be reassessed; wise immigration policies set in place; ways of securing and allocating energy supplies considered; systems shielding the population and the country from growing toxification developed and funding allocated to address the public health damage that already occurred.

The list is not exhaustive.

timing

The time to consider wise planning process is now. None of the solutions are easy or immediate. Given the degree to which a contraction violates all assumptions of today’s economic policies, it will be politically as challenging as it is necessary for institutions, which are the principal engineers of culture.

hope

We may not be capable of fixing all the confluent planetary challenges, but we can be thus adequately prepared to better withstand some of their effects.

ARCADE OF DISCOVERY
EXTERNAL LINKS

The onion America's finest new source

Organic agriculture in the twenty-first century

Some thoughts about the role of industry

The Times interview with a CEO illustrates how the Industry takes on the role of “fight nature”

Video: example of Industry attempts to Work on the public opinion – a panel on Atrazine, a very dangerous chemical

RSA Animate - The Truth About Dishonesty

Pesticide Testing in Meat 1964 USDA

Report by Generations Futures about how Pesticide regulators ignore the legal obligation to use independent science for deriving safe exposure levels

Some thoughts about the role of government

Video from senate hearings which shows how the US government has no clue and is guided by the industry.

Some thoughts on the precautionary principle.

Permaculture and homesteading goofballs: A great webpage and the Hub for permaculture world wide

Des Plans Sages

imparable

Les systèmes de gouvernance paraissent incapables de résoudre, ou ne serait-ce que d’aborder sérieusement les problèmes financiers, environnementaux ou concernant les ressources. Il semble que rien ne puisse être fait pour dévier le cours des événements. La disponibilité des énergies fossiles conduit inévitablement à une complexification des enjeux, à l’augmentation de la dette, à une croissance de la population et à l’épuisement des ressources – le tout étant lié.

déresponsabilisation

Notre évaluation ne signifie pas que l’effondrement de l’économie mondiale, de l’environnement et de la population soit certain. Il y a des événements qui pourraient considérablement affecter la trajectoire actuelle, de grandes guerres ou des pandémies pourraient survenir. Inversement, une nouvelle source d’énergie dense, transportable, abondante et bon marché pourrait être découverte ou un véritable leadership mondial émerger, mais la probabilité de tels scenarii est plutôt faible. Réfléchir aux différentes options ne doit pas uniquement aboutir à des constats fatalistes, mais cela nous fournit d’éventuels outils de planification.

ciblé et constant

Une bonne compréhension des facteurs déterminant la situation actuelle et leurs interactions permet d’élaborer des réponses plus rationnelles. Il nous est ainsi possible de rester sereins, atténuant la colère et les blâmes inutiles, et nous évite de gaspiller du temps et de l’énergie dans des initiatives purement symboliques. Cela nous permet également d’anticiper le goulot d’étranglement qui s’annonce et de l’aborder judicieusement.

facile

Une gouvernance raisonnable n’est pas une tâche insurmontable. De même qu’il n’est pas inconcevable de développer des plans appropriés, des normes et des systèmes locaux pour les menaces identifiées.

clair

Il est clair qu’aucune institution ne peut à elle seule fournir toutes les réponses. Plus que tout autres, la Suisse a la capacité d’entreprendre un effort de collaboration consensuel qui rassemble l’expertise disponible et la sagesse nécessaire pour remplir progressivement les lacunes au sein d’une matrice cohérente. Un véritable leadership peut émerger.

concerté

Fondamentalement, ce projet a besoin de naviguer à travers les pièges habituels des opinions préconçues, des méandres du langage bureaucratique, de l’orgueil et du déni.

LA LISTE

agriculture

La mise en œuvre de certaines mesures peut exiger un certain délai. Par exemple, pour assurer un faible apport d’intrants alimentaires et de fibres approvisionnées à partir de sources locales, il peut être nécessaire de reconstruire les sols appauvris, ce qui prendra plusieurs années d’efforts actifs et un financement important. Une recherche robuste et la mise en œuvre de nouvelles pratiques agricoles intelligentes seront nécessaires sur une relativement courte échelle de temps.

autres thèmes

La préparation intellectuelle et psychologique des jeunes adultes à un avenir qui va être considérablement modifié, peut être une autre nécessité. Il pourrait y avoir moins d’emplois disponibles au moment d’entrer sur le marché du travail et les réalisations professionnelles de leurs parents pourraient ne pas être reproductibles. Les systèmes de valeurs devraient donc être adaptés et de nouvelles compétences enseignées en prévision.

Dans un autre domaine, les mécanismes politiques visant à atténuer la polarisation sociale, la colère, l’apathie, l’extrémisme et l’attrait des forces politiques radicales devraient être identifiés et mis en place.

Les systèmes de sécurité sociale peuvent avoir besoin de révisions afin de pouvoir agir en tant que tampon contre les perturbations économiques et protéger les personnes les plus vulnérables.

Des systèmes d’information et de transports pourraient avoir besoin d’être réévalués; des politiques d’immigration sages, mises en place; les moyens de mobiliser et d’allouer les approvisionnements énergétiques considérées; des systèmes de protection de la population et du pays de la pollution développés et des fonds alloués pour réparer les dommages de santé publique ayant déjà cours.

Cette liste n’est pas exhaustive.

timing

Le temps d’élaborer un processus de planification sage est venu. Aucune solution n’est simple ou immédiate, dans la mesure où une contraction viole toutes les hypothèses de politiques économiques actuelles. Il sera politiquement aussi difficile qu’il est nécessaire pour les institutions, qui sont les principaux ingénieurs de la culture, de l’admettre.

espoir

Nous ne serons peut-être pas capables de régler tous les défis planétaires, mais nous pouvons nous préparer de manière adéquate à résister à leurs effets.

Arcade des découvertes
LIENS EXTERNES

The onion America's finest new source

Organic agriculture in the twenty-first century

Some thoughts about the role of industry

The Times interview with a CEO illustrates how the Industry takes on the role of “fight nature”

Video: example of Industry attempts to Work on the public opinion – a panel on Atrazine, a very dangerous chemical

RSA Animate - The Truth About Dishonesty

Pesticide Testing in Meat 1964 USDA

Report by Generations Futures about how Pesticide regulators ignore the legal obligation to use independent science for deriving safe exposure levels

Some thoughts about the role of government

Video from senate hearings which shows how the US government has no clue and is guided by the industry.

Some thoughts on the precautionary principle.

Permaculture and homesteading goofballs: A great webpage and the Hub for permaculture world wide