Understand

Important indicators point to quite a few economic and ecological bumps ahead of us. Contrary to popular belief, technology won’t be able to make this reality go away. However, good governance may make it easier to manage the possible hardships.

Many people are lured by a belief that somehow technology will sort out the global problems we now face because of the advancing climate change, resource depletion, inescapable surge in energy cost, population pressure and water distress. Or, that some technology will magically enable farmers to even further increase their yields on less, more exhausted, toxified and weather-torn land – and that also with less assistance from other species – like the complex system of microbiota that are so essential for soil fertility, pollinators, or insect predators.

Overwhelming part of that progress is based on the ephemeral burst of cheap fossil carbon energy, which now is becoming more expensive to find and extract as the easiest, cheapest sources have been exploited. It is also requiring technologies of exploration and production that are growing more complex and risky. Ignoring the central role of cheap fossil fuels has blinded us to profound risks that rising extraction cost of finite resources pose for our livelihood.

5 KEY REASONS FOR
OUR SUCCESS TODAY

There will be price swings as countries and companies artificially manipulate the supply. But the long-term trend is inexorable. That means that the technologies that have been used to boost carrying capacity, particularly by increasing food production, will become more expensive, perhaps prohibitively. The economy is likely to contract, a process, which may occur suddenly, remain long and be socially complicated. Moreover, this is likely to come at the same time when the environmental costs become more painfully apparent. The possibly severe implications will be felt in all countries, albeit in different manner and at different time, although globalization may diffuse the impacts over entire regions quite suddenly. At the same time.

Meanwhile, even though we still nurture trust in the state, we have generally adopted governance models that favor the interests of markets and the economy over the interests of the individual citizens. We have allowed government’s role to shift from custodians of the commons to stimulating development and economic growth. The complexity and the global scale of our systems further erodes notions of local governance and dilutes responsibility. This has an inescapable result: our shared commons – share such biodiversity, water, soil and air – become increasingly fenced, exhausted and fouled, precisely at the time when these commons will be imperative to our survival.

As increasing costs of key resources like fossil fuel begin to strain our abilities to pay, first those with fewer resources and ultimately everyone will face increasingly constrained economic growth.

Contraction, or reverse industrialization, is an economic reality, even though our systems are construed to negate it.

At the same time, we may be crossing key environmental tipping points.

As these events unfold, we will be operating in increasingly chaotic social and political environment.

If we are wise, there will be sober recognition that the state must return to its vital role of protecting local interests and mitigating extremism.

If we don’t embrace this, we won’t continue to thrive.

ARCADE OF DISCOVERY
EXTERNAL LINKS

The onion America's finest new source

Some thoughts about the role of industry

The Times interview with a CEO illustrates how the Industry takes on the role of “fight nature”

Video: example of Industry attempts to Work on the public opinion – a panel on Atrazine, a very dangerous chemical

RSA Animate - The Truth About Dishonesty

Pesticide Testing in Meat 1964 USDA

Report by Generations Futures about how Pesticide regulators ignore the legal obligation to use independent science for deriving safe exposure levels

Some thoughts about the role of government

Video from senate hearings which shows how the US government has no clue and is guided by the industry.

Some thoughts on the precautionary principle.

Comprendre

Les indicateurs majeurs soulignent les heurts économiques et écologiques à venir. Contrairement à la croyance populaire, la technologie ne sera pas en mesure de faire disparaître cette réalité. Cependant, une bonne gouvernance, permettra de gérer plus habilement les difficultés auxquelles nous devrons faire face.

Une majorité de la population a la conviction que d’une manière ou d’une autre, la technologie va régler les problèmes mondiaux auxquels nous sommes confrontés, que ce soit le changement climatique avancé, l’épuisement des ressources, la hausse inéluctable du coût de l’énergie, la pression démographique ou le stress hydrique. Ils ont la certitude que certaines technologies vont permettre aux agriculteurs d’augmenter leurs rendements, comme par magie, malgré une terre amoindrie, épuisée, intoxiquée et une météo imprévisible – ainsi qu’avec moins d’assistance provenant d’autres espèces – comme le système complexe de microbiome qui est essentiel pour la fertilité du sol, les pollinisateurs, les insectes ou les prédateurs.

L’incroyable succès des 400 dernières années est souvent attribué aux progrès technologiques, sans percevoir le rôle central que les énergies fossiles ont joué en étirant temporairement la capacité de charge apparente de la Terre.

La majorité de ce progrès est basé sur l’apparition – éphémère – d’une énergie bon marché, qui désormais se raréfie et devient de plus en plus onéreuse à extraire, les sources les plus faciles d’accès ayant d’ores et déjà été exploitées. Ceci requiert également des technologies d’exploration et de production plus complexes et risquées.

5 raisons clé de notre
succès d’aujourd’hui

Ignorant le rôle central des énergies fossiles bon marché, nous ne souhaitons pas voir les risques profonds que la hausse des coûts d’extraction fait peser sur notre survie.

Il y aura des fluctuations de prix quand les pays et les entreprises manipuleront artificiellement l’offre. Mais la tendance à long terme est inéluctable. Cela signifie que les technologies qui ont été utilisées pour augmenter la capacité des transports, en corrélation avec la production alimentaire, vont devenir plus onéreuses voire prohibitives. L’économie devrait se contracter, un processus qui peut se produire soudainement, restant long et être socialement compliqué. En outre, il est probable que ces changements arrivent au même moment où les coûts environnementaux deviennent plus douloureusement évidents. Aucun pays ne sera épargné par les conséquences d’une hausse des prix, ils le seront certes à des niveaux et à des périodes différents, mais la mondialisation a pris soin de lier les enjeux.

Pendant ce temps, même si nous entretenons encore une certaine foi en l’État, nous avons généralement adopté des modèles de gouvernance qui favorisent les intérêts des marchés et de l’économie au détriment de ceux des citoyens. Nous avons permis que le rôle du gouvernement passe de gardiens de la chambre des biens communs à celui de stimulation du développement et de la croissance économique. La complexité et la dimension mondiale de nos systèmes érode encore les notions de gouvernance locale et dilue la responsabilité. Cela a une conséquence inévitable: nos biens communs – la biodiversité, l’eau, le sol et l’air – deviennent de plus en plus rares et pollués, précisément à l’époque où ces biens communs deviennent impératifs à notre survie.

Comme le coût des ressources clés s’accroit et entrave nos capacités de paiement, nous mais en premier lieu les moins favorisés devrons adopter des mesures économiques restrictives.

La contraction ou une désindustrialisation sont des horizons économiques plausibles bien que nos systèmes le nient.

En même temps, nous franchissons un cap environnemental.

Alors que ces événements se déroulent, nous opérerons dans un environnement social et politique de plus en plus chaotique.

Si nous sommes sages, il y aura une reconnaissance sobre que l’État doit revenir à son rôle vital de protection des intérêts locaux et à une atténuation de l’extrémisme.

Sans adaptation, il nous sera impossible de prospérer.

Arcade des découvertes
LIENS EXTERNES

The onion America's finest new source

Some thoughts about the role of industry

The Times interview with a CEO illustrates how the Industry takes on the role of “fight nature”

Video: example of Industry attempts to Work on the public opinion – a panel on Atrazine, a very dangerous chemical

RSA Animate - The Truth About Dishonesty

Pesticide Testing in Meat 1964 USDA

Report by Generations Futures about how Pesticide regulators ignore the legal obligation to use independent science for deriving safe exposure levels

Some thoughts about the role of government

Video from senate hearings which shows how the US government has no clue and is guided by the industry.

Some thoughts on the precautionary principle.